The Blacktie Photo Gallery is sponsored by:

Captured Event

November, 17 2010 - AFP Philanthropy Dinner

What: Celebrating National Philanthropy Day with the Golden Anniversary of AFP International

Where: Sheraton Phoenix Downtwon

When: November 17, 2010

Time: 6:00 PM

Ticket Prices: $125

Host(s): AFP Greater Arizona Chapter

Mistress of Ceremonies: Kim Covington, Channel 12 News Anchor

Co-Chair(s): Belen B. Herner

President(s): Jacquelyn A. Ahrenberg

Sponsors: PLATINUM: National Bank of Arizona; SILVER: APS, The Arizona Republic, Wells Fargo; SPARKLING: St. Joseph's Foundation, The Phoenix Philanthropy Group, Ewing Consulting LLC, Banner Health Foundation/Banner Alzheimer's Foundation, Sheraton Phoenix Downtown, Powers Young & Company, The Cagney Company

Quote of the evening: For five decades, AFP has been working to advance ethical and effective fundraising and support charities around the world that provide critical services to their communities.

Menu: SALAD: Baby arugula, toasted pine nuts, red & yellow tomatoes, fresh mozzarella; ENTREE: Sauteed breast of chick francoise with garlic seared shrimp, grilled asparagus, brussel sprouts, duchesse potato; DESSERT: Apple carmel tart, frangelico & carmel sauce

Attendance: 500

Attire: Black Tie Invited or Black Tie Optional

Information: Karolyn Kiburz 480-947-3459

Planning Committee: Belen B. Herner (chairman), Jacquelyn Ahrenberg, Alma Chavez-Lira, Susan Combe, Jarita Davis, Brian Fergus, Bill J. Harrison, Lee Hartmann, Jesus Hernandez, Megan Jefferies, Karolyn Kiburz, Ellen Lord, Jacqueline Palmenberg, Priscilla Valencia

Board of Directors: Jacquelyn Ahrenberg, Sue Gaub, Mark Walker, Louise Bowden, Alan Knobloch, Robin Dunn, Karolyn Kiburz, Anne White PhD, Sandra Jorgensen, Bethany Taylor, Laine Seaton, Torrie Taj, Marla Bassler, Penelope Cagney, Elaine Fogel, Keith Kerber, Mary Lee Hoffman, Pamela Wanser, Belen Herner, Michelle Just, Megan Jefferies

Blacktie Photos by: Erin Vincent

View all photos

By Myra Richman......On November 17, 2010, the Greater Arizona Chapter of Association of Fundraising Professionals paid tribute to several honorees for their service at this year's Philanthropy Awards Dinner held at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel.

Beginning with a cocktail reception, more than 500 guests enjoyed an evening of dinner and award presentations at the 50th anniversary of AFP International, and the 26th anniversary of the Philanthropy Awards Dinner in Arizona.    Spirit of Philanthropy Awards were given on behalf of the nonprofit organizations represented at the event, and awarded to recognize special donors and volunteers for their significant philanthropic contributions.

This year's Philanthropy Leadership Awards recognized individuals and organizations that exemplify the highest standards of philanthropic responsibility and generosity.  Those honorees were:

  • Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser: Carolyn Keagle, A Stepping Stone Foundation
  • Outstanding Corporation/Foundation:  Southwest Ambulance
  • Outstanding Philanthropist:  John and Doris Norton
  • Outstanding Media:  The Arizona Republic
  • Outstanding Fundraising Executive:  Sandra Jorgensen, St. Mary's Food Bank Alliance

The Association of Fundraising Professionals represents more than 30,000 members in 206 chapters throughout the world working to advance philanthropy through advocacy, research, education and certification programs. The Greater Arizona Chapter, in existence since 1972 when it was known as the Fundraising Roundtable, grew to become the Arizona Fund Raising Association before affiliating with the Association of Fundraising Professionals in 1978.

For more information, visit or call 480-947-3459

See More Past Events

Blacktie LLC is PCI compliant.